The Gertrude Stein Award in Fiction 2014 | $1000 and Publication | Now Accepting Entries

Rick Moody

Thank you to all the talented writers who sent their Gertrude Stein Award in Fiction entries for our 2013 contest. Mr. Moody is currently reading (blind review) the finalists and will make his decision regarding the first, second and third place winners within the next few weeks. It was a difficult decision, narrowing down our finalists, as we received so many fantastic stories.

Public announcements will be made at AWP 2013 in Boston, Massachusetts. First, second, and third place winners will be published in Eckleburg‘s 2013 print anthology. The first place winner will receive $1000. Entries now being accepted for the 2014 Gertrude Stein Award in Fiction. Regular fiction submissions will reopen in March.

2013 Contest Judge, Rick Moody | Rick Moody is the author of the novels Garden State, which won the Pushcart Press Editors’ Book Award, The Ice Storm, Purple America, and The Diviners; two collections of stories, The Ring of Brightest Angels Around Heaven and Demonology; a memoir, The Black Veil, winner of the PEN/ Martha Albrand Award, and The Four Fingers of Death. He has received the Addison Metcalf Award, the Paris Review’s Aga Khan Prize, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. He lives in Brooklyn, New York. Winners will be announced at AWP 2013 in Boston, MA.




The Gertrude Stein Award in Fiction | 2014

Awards: $1000 and publication in Eckleburg to first place winner; publication to second and third place winners; listing of titles and names for honorable mentions.

Word Count: No more than 8,000 words

Submissions: ONLINE

Deadline: New Year’s Eve, Midnight

Entry Fee: $10

Winners: Announced in April of 2014



All stories in English no more than 8,000 words are eligible. No minimum word count. Stories published previously in print or online venues are eligible if published after January 1, 2011. Stories can be submitted by authors, editors, publishers, and agents. Simultaneous and multiple submissions allowed. Each individual story must be submitted separately, with separate payment regardless of word count. Eckleburg editors, staff, interns and current students of The Johns Hopkins University are not eligible for entry.



Stories must be submitted online and in manuscript form (please don’t upload entire anthologies or collections), double-spaced, Times New Roman, one-inch margins. Must be in English. Experimental to mainstream with punch aesthetics welcome. Multimedia (visual that includes text) welcome. No film or audio.



Award-winning manuscripts will be published by The Doctor T. J. Eckleburg Review. Finalists and Honorable Mentions will be listed with titles and author names. By submitting, submitters verify copyright holding and give Eckleburg rights to publish, republish and use the winning works in promotional efforts and anthology printing both print and online. 



No application forms are necessary. Announcement of the winners will be made April 2013. Submit ONLINE.



Prompt: Using the above image, write a microfiction (500 words or less — yes, 501 is more than 500). In your piece, respond to the image in the above photograph. Your piece may take any form you like as long as it includes less than 500 words and relates, in some way, to the image. Have fun with it. (Artwork by Ogun Afariogun.)

Deadline: May 31, 2011Midnight

Submit: MMR Online Submissions

Winner: First place will be published in Moon Milk Review.


Laura Ellen Scott’s collection of 21 creepy stories is called Curio and is available free online and as an ebook from Uncanny Valley Press. Her novel, Death Wishing, a comic fantasy set in New Orleans, will be released in October 2011 by Ig Publishing.