Congratulations to Our Finalists for the Gertrude Stein Award in Fiction 2015

Roberta Allen
Jacob M. Appel
R. Berg
Mason Boyles
Jane Breakell
Robert Busby
Jennifer Caloyeras
Jaimee Wriston Colbert
Ruby Cowling
Annie Dawid
Kathleen Hansen
Nancy Scott Hanway
Ingrid Jendrzejewski
Marjorie Maddox
Magus Magnus
Sean McCarthy
Jeni McFarland
Scott O’Connor
Craig O’Hara
B. Stufflebeam
Meg Tuite
Cady Vishniac
Tracey Weddle

We had a fantastic pool of submitters. Thank you, everyone, for sending us your best work! Judges will be reading and deliberating our final list shortly.

Eckleburg No. 20 Paperback


Support our Adopt a Writer Program and donate 60% of your donation to this contributor. When a reader submits a donation on a contributor’s page, 60% of the donation will be forwarded to the contributor’s PayPal account.


The Doctor T. J. Eckleburg Review is a print and digital literary journal. We offer original fiction, poetry and nonfiction, as well as our Gallery—visual artwork and intermedia—and Groove Mix including original music by The Size Queens. Our archives include emerging and established writers, poets, artists, musicians and comedians such as Rick Moody, Cris Mazza, Eurydice, Steve Almond, Stephen Dixon, Moira Egan, David Wagoner, Zach Galifianakis and many more. We run annual print issues, the Rue de Fleurus Salon & Reading Series (DC, Baltimore and New York), as well as, the annual Gertrude Stein Award in Fiction with a first prize of $1000 and print publication.

Announcing The Franz Kafka Award in Magic Realism 2014 Winners

We are so very pleased to announce our Franz Kafka Award Winners for 2015. We received many fantastic submissions from truly talented writers. Please join us in celebrating our winners and finalists:

1st Place
“Dream State” by Mark Jacobs

Human beings commemorate. That’s why, in the future, the date could be important. The date, I mean, on which the state was founded. January 23. On a bitterly cold day, I will add, in the American city of .….” (To be published in Eckleburg No. 20)

2nd Place
“Empty Spaces” by Stephanie Frazee

To be published in Eckleburg No. 20

3rd Place
“Mothers” by Carmen Machado

To be published in Eckleburg No. 20

2014 Franz Kafka Award Finalists

Amy Narneeloop

Daniel Grandbois

Jacques Debrot

Tamar Kupiec

Marc Watkins

Lale Davidson

Rebecca Nison

SUBMIT NOW: Gertrude Stein Award 2015

Our Gertrude Stein Award 2015 will be judged by our excellent panel of judges and authors including Weston Cutter, Mary Krienke, Mary Stein and Natanya Ann Pulley. Read more about our 2015 judges below. You can read past winners in Eckleburg No. 19.


Eckleburg No. 19 Hardback

Gertrude Stein 2015 Contest Judges

Weston_Cutter-Weston_CutterWeston Cutter is from Minnesota. His work has been published in Ploughshares and The Rumpus. He is the author of You’d Be a Stranger, Too and All Black Everything. He’s an assistant professor at the University of St Francis and runs the book review website Corduroy Books.
Mary_Krienke_DrTJEMary Krienke grew up in the Midwest and currently resides in Brooklyn, NY. She received her MFA from Columbia University’s Fiction Program and has been previously published by Midwestern GothicTwo Hawks QuarterlyJoyland, and Underground Voices, with work forthcoming in Palooka. Now an associate literary agent at Sterling Lord Literistic, she is currently writing her first novel.
SteinMary Stein lives in Minneapolis where she’s the assistant editor of Conduit literary magazine and works as a teaching artist. Her fiction has appeared in Caketrain, The Brooklyn Rail, and Spartan Lit. She received her MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts and has been nominated for New Stories from the Midwest.
Natanya_Pulley-Natanya_Ann_PulleyNatanya Ann Pulley is half-Navajo (Kiiyaa’aanii and Tachiinii clans). She has a PhD in Fiction Writing from the University of Utah and is an Assistant Professor at the University of South Dakota. A writer of primarily fiction and non-fiction with outbreaks in poetry, Natanya’s publications include Western Humanities Review, The Florida Review, Drunken Boat, and McSweeney’s Open Letters (among others).

Announcing the 2014 Franz Kafka Award Finalists

Franz Kafka Award in Magic Realism | $1000

“Empty Spaces” by Stephanie Frazee

“Plato” by Daniel Grandbois

“The Opal Maker” by Lale Davidson

“The Hole” by Rebecca Nison

“The Eye” by Amy Narneeloop

“Dream State” by Mark Jacobs

“Mothers” by Carmen Machado

“Hell” by Jacques Debrot

“For the Love of Broken Things” by Marc Watkins

“The Selectmen of Raysonne” by Tamar Kupiec


*First, second and third place winners announced in April 2015.