2014 Gertrude Stein Award | Guest-Judged by Cris Mazza Winner of the Pen/Nelsen Algren Award | Open for Submissions



We are so pleased to announce that our guest-judge for the 2014 Gertrude Stein Award in Fiction is Cris Mazza, winner of the Pen/Nelson Algren Award for book length fiction. Cris is also a critically acclaimed editor of the FC2 anthology Chick-Lit series. On behalf of Ms. Mazza and all the editors at Eckleburg, we look forward to reading your fiction! We are reading and rereading throughout the year and encourage early entry.

A big thank you to all the writers who submitted fiction for the 2013 Gertrude Stein Award, judged by Rick Moody. We had a fantastic response! Many talented and gripping stories. Winners to be announced in April of this year.


The Gertrude Stein Award in Fiction | 2014

Awards: $1000 and publication in Eckleburg to first place winner; publication to second and third place winners; listing of titles and names for honorable mentions.

Word Count: No more than 8,000 words

Submissions: ONLINE

Deadline: New Year’s Eve, Midnight

Entry Fee: $10

Winners: Announced in April of 2014



All stories in English no more than 8,000 words are eligible. No minimum word count. Stories published previously in print or online venues are eligible if published after January 1, 2011. Stories can be submitted by authors, editors, publishers, and agents. Simultaneous and multiple submissions allowed. Each individual story must be submitted separately, with separate payment regardless of word count. Eckleburg editors, staff, interns and current students of The Johns Hopkins University are not eligible for entry.



Stories must be submitted online and in manuscript form (please don’t upload entire anthologies or collections), double-spaced, Times New Roman, one-inch margins. Must be in English. Experimental to mainstream with punch aesthetics welcome. Multimedia (visual that includes text) welcome. No film or audio.



Award-winning manuscripts will be published by The Doctor T. J. Eckleburg Review. Finalists and Honorable Mentions will be listed with titles and author names. By submitting, submitters verify copyright holding and give Eckleburg rights to publish, republish and use the winning works in promotional efforts and anthology printing both print and online. 



No application forms are necessary. Announcement of the winners will be made spring 2014. Submit ONLINE.


2013 author photo2014 Contest Judge | Cris Mazza

Cris Mazza’s first novel, How to Leave a country, won the PEN/Nelson Algren Award for book-length fiction. Some of her other notable earlier titles include Your Name Here: ___, Dog People and Is It Sexual Harassment Yet? She was co-editor of Chick-Lit: Postfeminist Fiction (FC2, 1995), and Chick-Lit 2 (No Chick Vics) (FC2, 1996), anthologies of women’s fiction. Mazza’s fiction has been reviewed numerous times in The New York Times Book Review, The Wall Street Journal, MS Magazine, Chicago Tribune Books, The Los Angeles Times Book Review, The Voice Literary Supplement, The San Francisco Review of Books, and many other book review publications. Her book Something Wrong with Her: A Hybrid Memoir is coming soon from Jaded Ibis Productions. Read an excerpt in The Doctor T. J. Eckleburg Review.

Rick Moody

2013 Contest Judge | Rick Moody

Rick Moody is the author of the novels Garden State, which won the Pushcart Press Editors’ Book Award, The Ice Storm, Purple America, and The Diviners; two collections of stories, The Ring of Brightest Angels Around Heaven and Demonology; a memoir, The Black Veil, winner of the PEN/ Martha Albrand Award, and The Four Fingers of Death. He has received the Addison Metcalf Award, the Paris Review’s Aga Khan Prize, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. He lives in Brooklyn, New York. Winners will be announced at AWP 2013 in Boston, MA.


The Editors on FacebookThe Editors on Twitter
The Editors
Eckleburg is a print and online literary journal that offers original fiction, poetry, essays, music, art, writing workshops and more.